What is volunteerism?

So, I’m going to speak about volunteerism. I’ve been thinking about this topic a lot. It’s been in my thoughts for almost entire past week. I thought it was a very interesting topic and I decided to write about it. I posted a status on facebook about this topic, and also, I asked my friends. Everyone told me what they thought about this topic. The idea was diffirent, but it was under the same topic.

There are a lot of people in Azerbaijan now, They dont realize what voluenteering is. Many people, maybe most people think volunteerting is an occupation of worker.( I am sorry for this word) Yes, If u say near the young man, ” I do voluenteering” he will say “hey are you a servant to people?! do you need to work with no salary?! Yes, some people think so. . Some people around me think so. Now read my dialog with my friend :
-me : what is voluenteering for you?
-friend : Eh, it’s dumb..(and he started laughing)
-me :why is it dumb?
-friend : Do I needto work as a laborer?
-I: Ok. Think that you are at home, in the yard and working. Do some repairs.and your neighbor comes, and tells u : ”hey, what are you doing? Let me help u”. what do you think about this guy?! Is he a slave for you?! Did he ask for money from you? or what?!

And I looked at him and I told..

 

me : hey, what is up man? tell me something.
He turned his face other side, and kept quiet. After some time he left. and he was thinking. I didnt’t say anything to him,. Let him think.
Yes. such a dialogue.This shows that, some of our young men dont have information about volunteering. Who should be blamed for this? The teachers that tell us only to “STUDY STUDY STUDY”?! It’s an interesting question, isn’t it?

Some of you know that I will go to USA with FLEX program.So this is how it works in there. each organization has its own volenteering time you have to do within 1 year (50-60 hrs. Depends on the organization).And if you volunteer more than 100 hours, you will get an “appreciation letter” form the President of America.It can be called a great success.

In Europe and America volenteering is very important. Sometimes you see Americans in Azerbaijan (more in the regions).People in Azerbaijan think they receive a monthy 10.000 dollars, they receive the money that’s why they come here, and so on. But NO ! They come here as volenteers. But our people doesnt know real volenteering, that’s why we dont understand them.

Anyway, volenteering is when you do something that you want to do, and dont think about money! When I say no money, I mean without any back thoughts. The most improtant thing is, you help someone, and he/she looks in your face, smiles, and says :” Thank you very much’. At this time you become so happy. I mean it happened to me. A feel-good moment. Volunteering is also good for you. It helps to get more experience for the future work and career. And finally “How sould I volunteer?” I will answer to the question. New volunteer work depends on your own. You can do what you want.Help your neighbors. To help other students and classes. But it counts only when when you work and do not think about money. Thant is volunteering! Money is not everything!

Author : Kenan Mammadli.

translated with help of  : Sabina Kurgunayeva

Leave a comment